The Shobe Financial Group | Translating the Credentials

Translating the Credentials

Our planners continually advance their knowledge of financial planning and investment management by pursuing and maintaining specialized industry credentials. These credentials can require that they complete testing, meet experience requirements, pursue and complete ongoing education, and abide by a strict code of ethics. With the advanced tools and knowledge earned with these credentials, our advisors provide guidance to help you pursue your life goals through good financial decisions.


AIF® designees have an understanding of Prudent Practices and are able to implement them in working with individual and institutional investors. A client may benefit from using the experience of an advisor with the AIF® designation because the advisor will be held to a standard of excellence to which others may not adhere.

Link to AIF® issuing organization- AIF®


The CFP®, CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNER™ and certification marks are financial planning credentials awarded by Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards Inc. (CFP Board) to individuals who meet education, examination, experience, and ethics requirements.



The ChFC credential is a financial planning designation awarded by The American College. The Chartered Financial Consultant” (ChFC- ) program helps prepare advisors to meet the advanced financial planning needs of individuals, professionals, and small business owners through in-depth coverage of the key financial planning disciplines, including insurance, income taxation, retirement planning, investments, and estate planning.

Link to the ChFC® website – Chartered Financial Consultant


The CIMA® credential is awarded by the Investment Management Consultants Association to professionals who pass a pre-qualifying and a certifying exam, complete coursework at the Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania, have a minimum of three years experience in investment consulting, and fulfill continuing education requirements.

Link to the CIMA® website – Certified Investment Management Analyst


The CLU designation is awarded by The American College to insurance and financial services professionals who have met the College’s three-year business experience requirement, passed its eight college-level education courses, and agreed to abide by its code of ethics.

Link to the CLU® website – Chartered life Underwriter



The CRPS®,  Chartered Retirement Plan Specialist, designation is the industry-benchmark for credentials related to retirement plan creation/maintenance.It is awarded by the College for Financial Planning to individuals who pass an exam demonstrating their expertise. Successful applicants earn the right to use the CRPS designation with their names for two years, which can improve job opportunities, professional reputation, and pay. Every two years, CRPS professionals must complete 16 hours of continuing education and pay a nominal fee to continue using the designation.

Link to the CRPS® website – College for Financial Planning